top of page

KUBE

Jennifer Saayeng on realising your potential, claiming opportunities and striving for confidence

We spoke to Jennifer Saayeng, the brilliant British actress who plays the character of Nerva in the upcoming season of the sci-fi drama "Raised by Wolves," (available on HBO in the US and on Sky and NOW in Europe and Italy) executive produced by Academy Award-winning director Ridley Scott. We discuss growing up in Surrey, cultivating her talent for acting, dancing and singing and how seeing actors who looked like her helped her realise that she could turn her lifetime passion into a career. Jennifer also shares her experience with alopecia, an autoimmune disease which causes total or partial hair loss, and her ongoing journey with self-confidence.



photo by Joseph Sinclair

Kube: Could you start by telling us a little bit about yourself, where you’re from, where you grew up and when you first became interested in acting?

Jennifer Saayeng: I was born and bred in Epsom, Surrey, UK. It’s a nice part of the world, about 40 minutes from central London. My interest in ‘The Arts’ began at school, where I was lucky enough to have teachers who encouraged and nurtured my talents. When I was in my teens, I attended drama and dance classes at Laine Theatre Arts in Epsom several nights a week after school. It’s one of the top performance colleges in the UK, and I just happened to live nearby.


K: Have you always known you wanted to be an actor?

JS: From a young age, I longed for a career doing something I really enjoyed; the perfect vocation. Acting, singing, and dancing were my hobbies so I suppose they were the perfect fit, it was a natural progression. I wanted to cover all the bases because I didn’t think becoming a series regular in EastEnders was a realistic goal for me. I saw characters who looked like me in Once Upon a Time and that became my ultimate acting dream. I quickly surpassed this idea as I continued to succeed and saw there was a wealth of opportunities available to me beyond Albert Square. I thrived at the various stages of training and continued working on stage and on screen much longer than expected. I thought I’d be back enjoying teaching at the BRIT school by now.


K: You star in the current season of Ridley Scott’s show “Raised by Wolves.” Could you tell us how you became involved in the project and what your experience has been like?

JS: It was in the thick of lockdown in the UK that I submitted an audition tape for the character of Nerva and landed the role. I flew to Cape Town in March 2020 – I was allowed to travel for work – and stepped onto this incredibly sophisticated and breath-taking set. As well as working in the studio, I got to work in the great outdoors of South Africa. The landscapes are beautiful, as you can see in the show. The cast and crew made me feel very welcome and, of course, playing with such brilliant material on these epic sets was an absolute treat.

photo by Joseph Sinclair

K: How would you describe your character Nerva? In which ways do you think you two are similar? In which ways are you different?

JS: Nerva is all about the hustle. She’s a clever, intimidating force of nature who uses all the resources at her disposal to improve her existence. She’s also got a very maternal and caring nature. We’re similar in many ways, in part because I brought a lot of my own traits to the table to give depth and complexity to the character. However, she is clearly involved in robot wars, which I wouldn’t say is my biggest hobby! K: You’re also trained in musical theatre and have performed in plays and musicals. What would you say is your relationship to music?

JS: Music plays a massive part in my life; I find it so transformative. It’s a great source of escapism and can easily lift a mood or transform an ambience. I always use music to get into character, and often assign tracks as a gateway into a new world.


K: If you could magically obtain one skill overnight, what would it be? JS: If it were possible, I would like to be able to click my fingers and transport myself to any place and time. I probably wouldn’t bother with the future – I’d want to retain the surprise. But I’d pick this so that I could take myself to exotic beaches and mountain summits as well as head back to re-live some of my most enjoyable memories, like my wedding day.


K: You’ve spoken about having alopecia on social media in the past, could you tell us a little about this condition, for those who may not be familiar with it? What has your personal experience with it been like? JS: Alopecia is an autoimmune disease which causes you to lose some or all your hair. There’s no proven rhyme or reason as to why, when, how, or even if it will ever grow back. It affects people in different ways, some lose their hair all over their body, which is called ‘universalis’, others lose small patches, that's called ‘areata’. Then there’s also everything in between, which is what I’ve had. I have lost all of my hair and regrown some. It’s been an ongoing journey which started 13 years ago for me. I have gone from not wanting to deal with it and wearing hair extension and weaves to cover it up, to trying to fully embrace the bald. It has taken a toll on my confidence in my appearance and that part is a daily struggle, but it has made me appreciate what I do have and given me a real drive to overcome those insecurities.


photo by Joseph Sinclair

K: When sharing personal information like this online, how do you navigate striking a balance between being open and available with your followers while also maintaining some privacy and keeping a healthy distance? JS: Generally, I try to keep my online presence centred around the work I’m doing, I think that’s what people find most interesting. I share some of my personal life but not all of it, I feel there have to be boundaries. If I do share anything personal, it will generally be something with a particularly strong message or that I’m passionate about – be it a celebration of love and friendship, the work of my peers, or an informative story about my alopecia journey.


K: What is the best advice that you’ve ever received? JS: I find I learn the most valuable lessons from past experiences: to remember that things always work out in the end, we just need to breathe deeply and try not to sweat the small stuff. K: What’s something that you’re currently excited about? JS: In a few days I’ll be flying to Mauritius for a holiday and I can’t wait to soak up the local culture and cuisine. I hear the idyllic beaches are second to none and I'm desperate to see the sun again to absorb that vitamin D.


ITALIANO


Abbiamo parlato con Jennifer Saayeng, la brillante attrice britannica che interpreta il ruolo di Nerva nella nuova stagione del sci-fi drama "Raised by wolves: una nuova umanità," (disponibile su Sky e NOW in Italia) prodotta dal regista premio Oscar Ridley Scott. Parliamo della sua infanzia nel Surrey, di come ha coltivato i suoi talenti per recitazione, ballo e canto e di come vedere attori che le somigliavano le abbia fatto realizzare che poteva trasformare la sua passione in una carriera. Jennifer condivide anche la sua esperienza con l'alopecia, una malattia autoimmune che cause la perdita totale o parziale di peli e capelli e del suo sempre fluttuante rapporto con il suo senso di sicurezza.


photo by Joseph Sinclair

Kube: Inizierei chiedendoti di parlarci un po’ di te: dove sei nata, cresciuta e quando hai iniziato a recitare?

Jennifer Saayeng: Sono nata e cresciuta a Epsom nel Surrey, U.K. È un bell'angolo di mondo, a circa 40 minuti dal centro di Londra. Il mio interesse per le arti è nato a scuola. Ho avuto la fortuna di avere insegnanti che hanno incoraggiato e nutrito i miei talenti. Da adolescente ho frequentato una scuola di danza e recitazione, la Laine Theatre Arts di Epsom, dove andavo dopo scuola diverse sere a settimana. Si tratta di uno dei migliori college di arti performative del Regno Unito, e la sorte ha voluto che si trovasse vicino a casa mia.


K: Hai sempre voluto fare l’attrice?

JS: Fin da piccola sapevo di volere una carriera che mi permettesse di fare qualcosa che mi piacesse davvero, di seguire una vocazione. La recitazione, il canto e la danza erano i miei hobby e quindi la scelta perfetta, è stata una progressione naturale. Ho voluto coprire tutte le basi perché non mi sembrava realistico ambire ad essere uno dei personaggi principali in EastEnders. Ho visto personaggi che mi assomigliavano in Once Upon a Time ed è diventato quello il mio sogno attoriale. Poi mi sono accorta che continuavo ad avere successo e ho realizzato che c’erano molte opportunità per me oltre ad Albert Square. Mi sono distinta nei diversi stadi di training e ho continuato a lavorare sia sul palco che sullo schermo per molto più tempo del previsto. Ero sicura che a quest’ora sarei già felicemente tornata ad insegnare alla BRIT School.


K: Sei una delle protagoniste della nuova stagione della serie Raised by Wolves di Ridley Scott. Puoi dirci come sei arrivata a far parte di questo progetto e parlarci della tua esperienza?

JS: Ho mandato il mio video provino per questo ruolo durante il picco del lockdown qui in U.K. e l’ho avuto. Sono salita su un aereo per Cape Town a marzo 2020 - ottenendo il permesso di viaggiare per lavoro - e mi sono trovata su un set bellissimo e incredibilmente sofisticato. Oltre che in studio, ho potuto lavorare in mezzo ai bellissimi paesaggi del Sud Africa, che si vedono nella serie. Il cast e la crew mi hanno subito accolta e poter dilettarmi con materiale brillante e set stupendi è stato un enorme piacere.


photo by Joseph Sinclair

K: Come descriveresti il tuo personaggio Nerva? In cosa pensi di assomigliarle? E in cosa siete diverse?

JS: Nerva è tosta. È intelligente e autorevole, una forza della natura che usa tutti i mezzi a sua disposizione per migliorare la sua esistenza. Ha anche una natura molto materna e premurosa. Per molti aspetti siamo simili, anche perché ho fatto leva su molti dei miei tratti personali per dare profondità e complessità al personaggio. Anche se è vero che lei ha a che fare con guerre robotiche, il che non direi essere uno dei miei passatempi preferiti!


K: Hai anche una formazione musicale e hai recitato in diversi musical. Che rapporto hai con la musica?

JS: La musica ha un ruolo molto importante nella mia vita, la trovo trasformativa. Per me è un modo di evadere dalla realtà, può facilmente migliorare l’umore o trasformare l’atmosfera. Uso sempre la musica per entrare nel personaggio e spesso seleziono dei pezzi che mi aiutano ad entrare in un mondo diverso.


K: Se potessi magicamente risvegliarti con un nuovo potere quale vorresti e perché?

JS: Se fosse possibile, vorrei poter schioccare le dita per trasportarmi in qualsiasi posto e momento. Probabilmente non andrei nel futuro, preferisco mantenere la sorpresa, però potrei visitare spiagge esotiche e vedere le vette delle montagne. E potrei tornare indietro nel tempo per rivivere i miei più bei ricordi, come il giorno del mio matrimonio.


K: Sui social hai parlato della tua alopecia; per chi non lo sapesse, potresti spiegare di cosa si tratta e condividere la tua esperienza?

JS: L’alopecia è una malattia autoimmune che causa la perdita di alcuni o tutti i peli e capelli. Non si sa di preciso perché, quando, come e neanche se ricresceranno. Prende forme diverse, dalla perdita dei peli su tutto il corpo, detta ‘universalis’, alla perdita di piccole chiazze, detta ‘areata.’ E ovviamente c’è tutto quello che viene in mezzo, che è quello che ho io. Ho perso tutti i miei peli e alcuni sono ricresciuti. È un percorso continuo che per me è iniziato 13 anni fa. Sono passata dal non volerci pensare, cercando di coprirlo con extension e parrucche al provare ad accettare ed abbracciare la mia calvizie. Ha pesato molto sulla mia sicurezza e rimane una battaglia quotidiana ma mi ha anche fatto apprezzare quello che faccio e dato la forza di superare le mie insicurezze.


photo by Joseph Sinclair

K: Nel condividere questo tipo di informazioni personali online, come fai a trovare il giusto equilibrio tra l’essere aperta con i tuoi follower e mantenere una sana distanza?

JS: In genere, cerco di mantenere la mia presenza online centrata sul lavoro che faccio, credo che sia quello che le persone trovano più interessante. Condivido anche un po’ della mia vita personale ma non tutto. Quando decido di condividere qualcosa di personale generalmente si tratta di un messaggio particolarmente forte o di qualcosa nel quale credo profondamente – che sia per celebrare l’amore, l’amicizia, il lavoro dei miei colleghi o per raccontare una storia informativa riguardo alla mia esperienza con l’alopecia.


K: Al momento c’è qualcosa che non vedi l’ora di fare?

JS: Tra pochi giorni andrò in vacanza alle Mauritius e non vedo l’ora di immergermi nella cultura e nella cucina locale. Ho sentito dire che le spiagge lì sono imbattibili. Non vedo l’ora di rivedere il sole e di assorbire un po’ di vitamina D.

bottom of page